Search Google Scholar
If you're on campus and want to use Google Scholar to find articles in the SFC Library databases, you can type in your keywords into the search box below.
If you're off campus, you need to set your Google Scholar preferences first (see the Video Tutorial below) before Google Scholar can link relevant hits in its database to SFC Library.
View this video in Full Screen
Advanced Scholar Search Tips
You can increase the accuracy and effectiveness of your searches on Google Scholar by adding "operators" that fine-tune your search terms. In some cases, you can add operators right in the Google Scholar search box; other times, you'll want to use the Advanced Scholar Search page.
Here are the most common Google Scholar operators:
Author search is one of the most effective ways to find a specific paper. If you know who wrote the paper you're looking for, you can simply add their last name to your search terms.
The search [friedman regression] returns papers on the subject of regression written by people named Friedman. If you want to search on an author's full name, or last name and initials, enter the name in quotes: ["jh friedman"].
When a word is both a person's name and a common noun, you might want to use the "author:" operator. This operator only affects the search term that immediately follows it, and there must be no space between "author:" and your search term.
[author:flowers] returns papers written by people with the name Flowers, whereas [flowers -author:flowers] returns papers about flowers, and ignores papers written by people with the name Flowers (a minus in front of a search term excludes results that contain this search term).
You may use the operator with an author's full name in quotes to further refine your search. Try to use initials rather than full first names, because some sources indexed in Google Scholar only provide the initials.
(This option is only available on the Advanced Scholar Search page.)
A publication-restricted search only returns results with specific words from a specific publication.
If you want to search the Journal of Finance for articles about mutual funds, you might start like this:
Keep in mind, however, that publication-restricted searches may be incomplete. Google Scholar gathers bibliographical data from many sources, including automatically extracting it from text and citations. This information may be incomplete or even incorrect; many preprints, for instance, don't say where (or even whether) the article was ultimately published.
In general, publication-restricted searches are effective if you're certain of what you're looking for, but they‘re often narrower than you might expect.
You might find that a search across all publications for [mutual funds] gives more useful results than a more specific search for "funds" only in the Journal of Finance.
Finally, bear in mind that one journal can be spelled several ways (e.g., Journal of Biological Chemistry is often abbreviated as J Biol Chem), so you may need to try several spellings of a given publication in order to get complete search results.
Date-restricted searches can be effective when you're looking for the latest developments in a given area. The dropdown menu labeled anytime, which is available on all search results pages, allows you to limit the search to commonly used recent periods. The Advanced Scholar Search page allows you to restrict your search to other periods.
Here's how you'd search for articles on superconducting films that were published since 2004:
Bear in mind, however, that some web sources don't include publication dates, and a date-restricted search will not return articles for which Google Scholar was unable to determine a date of publication. So if you're sure that an article about superconducting films came out this year and a date-restricted search doesn't find it, retry the search without the date restriction.
You can limit search to legal opinions and journals in several ways. From the Homepage, you can select the option marked legal opinions and journals. From search results pages, you can use the first dropdown menu, which allows you to select collections to search, to make this choice. Finally, you can also select this option from the Advanced Scholar Search page.
You can limit search to legal opinions from one or more jurisdictions. The common options for jurisdiction-restricted searches (federal cases and cases from the state you are querying from) are available via the first dropdown menu on search results pages. To specify a list of jurisdictions to search over, you can use the Advanced Scholar Search page. Simply check the boxes for the jurisdictions you are interested in searching.
Google Scholar also supports most of the advanced operators in Google web search:
- the "+" operator makes sure your results include common words, letters or numbers that Google's search technology generally ignores, as in [+de knuth];
- the "-" operator excludes all results that include this search term, as in [flowers -author:flowers];
- phrase search only returns results that include this exact phrase, as in ["as you like it"];
- the "OR" operator returns results that include either of your search terms, as in [stock call OR put];
- the "intitle:" operator as in [intitle:mars] only returns results that include your search term in the document's title.
Search Google Scholar
How can I use Google Scholar for research?
You can find articles in SFC Library's peer-reviewed electronic journals using Google Scholar.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Much of the content is available in full text, while in some instances abstracts with links to pay-for document delivery services are displayed.
While we encourage you to try Google Scholar, keep in mind that this software is 'in Beta.' Beta status indicates that Google Scholar is still in development, and you may therefore encounter some inconsistencies or peculiarities. You'll need to sumplement your research by searching some of the many other databases found on the Databases A-Z page.
What areas of scholarly research are covered by Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches a specific subset of Google's index and covers a wide range of academic content areas; however coverage appears to be strongest in science and technology, and weakest in the humanities. Just as with Google's standard Web Search, Google Scholar ranks and lists results according to how relevant they are to the search query. The most relevant references should theoretically appear at the top of the page.
1) Go to Google Scholar.
2) Click on the Scholar Preferences link.
3) In the search box for Library Links, search for "St. Francis College Library". Put a check mark beside "St. Francis College Library" and then click "Save Preferences."
Perform a search in Google Scholar. "Full Text @ SFC Library" links will show up in your search results. Click on one of these links, and you will be taken to the 360 Link menu, which will provide you with options for accessing the item you are looking for.
What does 'Cited by' mean?
Clicking the 'Cited by' link will display a list of articles and documents that have cited the document originally retrieved in the search. This makes it possible to uncover other documents that are related by topic or subject to the original document. However, Google Scholar only includes articles that are indexed within its database, and this is a much smaller subset of scholarly articles than found in some other SFC Library-subscribed databases. A database which includes citation-based searching, and which may yield more comprehensive results is
I'm not finding the information I need. Where else can I search for online full text documents?
Use General Databases or Databases A-Z link fom our home page to choose a relevant database. Listed below are some popular resources that provide full-text articles (requires off-campus authentication):
- Ask-A-Librarian (email, chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian)